Skip to content

Sri Lankan Cabinet

The Cabinet of Sri Lanka is as follows:

Hon. Ratnasiri Wickremanayake – Prime Minister & Minister of Internal Administration
Hon. Milinda Moragoda – Minister of Justice and Law Reforms
Hon. Dr. Sarath Amunugama – Minister of Public Administration and Home Affairs
Hon. Dinesh Gunawardena – Minister of Urban Development and Sacred Area Development
Hon. Arumugan Thondaman – Minister of Youth Empowerment & Socio Economic Development
Hon. Mahinda Samarasinghe – Minister of Disaster Management and Human Rights
Hon. Douglas Devananda – Minister of Social Services and Social Welfare
Hon. Nimal Siripala De Silva – Minister of Healthcare and Nutrition
Hon. Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena – Minister of Cultural Affairs
Hon. Champika Ranawaka – Minister of Environment and Natural Resources
Hon. Anura Priyadarshana Yapa – Minister of Enterprise Development & Investment Promotion
Hon. Tissa Karalliyadde – Minister of Indigenous Medicine
Hon. Rajitha Senaratne – Minister of Construction and Engineering Services
Hon. Rohitha Bogollagama – Minister of Foreign Affairs
Hon. (Mrs.) Ferial Ashraff – Minister of Housing and Common Amenities
Hon. Prof. G. L. Peiris – Minister of Export Development & International Trade and Acting Minister of Posts and Telecommunication
Hon. Maithripala Sirisena – Minister of Agricultural Development & Agrarian Services Development
Hon. A. H. M. Fowzie – Minister of Petroleum & Petroleum Resources Development
Hon. D. M. Jayaratne – Minister of Plantation Industries
Hon. Susil Premajayantha – Minister of Education
Hon. P.Chandrasekeran – Minister of Community Development and Social Inequity Eradication
Hon. A. L. M. Athaullah – Minister of Water Supply and Drainage
Hon. Prof. Tissa Vitharana – Minister of Science and Technology
Hon. D. E. W. Gunasekera – Minister of Constitutional Affairs & National Integration
Hon. Abdul Risath Bathiyutheen – Minister of Resettlement & Disaster Relief Services
Hon. P. Dayaratne – Minister of Plan Implementation
Hon. R. M. Dharmadasa Banda – Minister of Supplementary Crops Development
Hon. M.H. Mohomed – Minister of Parliamentary Affairs
Hon. John Seneviratne – Minister of Power & Energy
Hon. (Mrs.) Sumedha Jayasena – Minister of Child Development and Women’s Affairs
Hon. Milroy Fernando – Minister of Public Estate Management & Development
Hon. Jeewan Kumaranatunga – Minister of Land and Land Development
Hon. Dullas Alahaperuma – Minister of Transport
Hon. Pavithra Wanniarachchi – Minister of Youth Affairs
Hon. Athauda Seneviratne – Minister of Labour Relations and Manpower
Hon. Gamini Lokuge – Minister of Sports and Public Recreation
Hon. Bandula Gunawardena – Minister of Trade, Marketing Development, Cooperatives and Consumer Affairs
Hon. Keheliya Rambukwelle – Minister of Foreign Employment Promotion and Welfare
Hon. Piyasena Gamage – Minister of Vocational and Technical Training
Hon. R. M. S. B. Navinne – Minister of Rural Industries & Self-Employment Promotion
Hon. Janaka Bandara Tennekoon – Minister of Local Government and Provincial Councils
Hon. Felix Perera – Minister of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources
Hon. R. M. C. B. Rathnayake – Minister of Livestock Development
Hon. Prof. Wiswa Warnapala – Minister of Higher Education
Hon. Chamal Rajapaksa – Minister of Irrigation, Water Management & Minister of Ports and Aviation
Hon. Kumara Welgama – Minister of Industrial Development
Hon. Nandana Gunatilake – Minister of Tourism

According to above list, there are two Ministers responsible for trade in Sri Lanka, Professor Peiris and Bandula Gunawardena. The Minister visiting Manchester on 1st Septemeber 2009 is Professor Peiris who is responsible for Export Development and International Trade, a significant responsibility, yet I cannot find a website dedicated to his Ministry. I will be meeting the Minister during his visit, and plans to have discussions with Trade Commissioner of Sri Lankan High Commission in London about setting up UK Sri Lankan Business Council, which may learn from UK India Business Council, which I am a Board Member of (the North West of Next Gen).

Interesting times lay ahead. Now is the time to get behind the Sri Lankan government to rebuild the whole country not just the affected areas due to terrorism in the past.

Published inOther